Shrimp with Mushrooms in Sour Cream Sauce

My mom made me this when I visited my parents over Labor Day weekend, and I liked it so much that I copied down the recipe. She got it from a friend like 17 years ago, and I’m not sure of the original source, but I’m bringing it out of the dark to share with everyone. It is too good to spend another 17 years in a wooden recipe box!

So, to begin, this recipe had some ingredients that don’t go with my paleo/primal lifestyle, so I had to fudge it in a few places. If you can’t handle dairy, I feel sorry for you, because this recipe is like 50% butter and 30% sour cream. It may be worth your pain later, though. If you aren’t a paleo/primal eater, then you can refer to the adjustments in the parentheses below for the original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. peeled and devined wild-caught shrimp
  • 8 oz. mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot starch (original recipe = 1 tbsp flour)
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp coconut aminos (original recipe = 1 tsp soy sauce)
  • 1 cup full-fat sour cream
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
IMG_0005

Ingredients: shrimp, mushrooms, arrowroot starch, butter, Parmesan, coconut aminos, sour cream, paprika, salt, and pepper

IMG_0001

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Melt 1 tbsp butter in a skillet, and add your raw shrimp. Cook until pink throughout. I used 24 oz. of shrimp because Target sells their shrimp in 12 oz. packages, and I would rather have more than enough. It turns out this recipe is so dangerously good that I would recommend doubling it, especially if you are feeding a family of 4+.

IMG_0008

Place the cooked shrimp in a large baking pan.

IMG_0009

Look at my pretty bowls!

IMG_0010

…and stoneware baking dishes! This is the Temptations brand from QVC. They are amazing. Oven-safe to 500 degrees, microwave/dishwasher-safe, and they came with iron holders and lids that double as cutting boards and baking sheets! Oven-to-table cookware.

IMG_0011

ANYWAY… sprinkle your shrimp with salt and pepper. I used some Szechuan seasoning I bought from Penzeys.

IMG_0006

In the same skillet, add 3 tbsp butter. Add your sliced mushrooms and saute until soft.

IMG_0019

Once the mushrooms are done, remove them from the skillet and put them in a bowl. Add 1 tbsp arrowroot starch, 1 tsp coconut aminos, 1 cup sour cream, and 5 tbsp well-softened butter.

IMG_0020

Mix it together! Try to contain your excitement.

IMG_0022

Pour the mushroom cream sauce over the shrimp, and sprinkle 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese on top. I sprinkled more like 1/2 cup of cheese because I can never control myself when it comes to cheese. Sprinkle 1 tsp paprika on top of the cheese. Bake in a 400-degree oven for 10 minutes.

IMG_0024

10 minutes later!

IMG_0025

I had 2 massive servings. It is crazy good. I was planning on making a side dish, but this comes together so fast that I ended up not having time. I also stuffed myself silly on this so a side was not necessary after all.

I licked my bowl clean while my husband watched me. It is SO GOOD. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

